2 Ingredient Salad

Salads don’t come easier than this.  Two ingredients for the salad and two ingredients for the dressing. (except the salt and pepper!)  I love this for ease of preparation and the simple taste of great ingredients.  It’s guaranteed to lighten up your Easter meal and look great too.

This recipe is from my favorite Food Network Star, Ina Garten.  I have 4 or 5 of her cookbooks and love almost everything I make from them.  I  like reading reviews on Food Network to get other opinions before I try them myself.  Ina also makes a pizza and tops it with this salad like pizzas at California Pizza Kitchen.  I’ll post that recipe 4 you soon so you can try it too.

TIP:  I like to use baby Arugula because it’s more tender than regular Arugula. Trader Joes sells a pre-washed bag of baby Arugula called “Rocket”.   It’s my favorite brand unless you find fresh.

Arugula Parmesan Salad

1/2 pound fresh arugula (3 large bunches) **I like to use the pre-washed bagged Baby Arugula from Trader Joes
1/4 pound very good Parmesan cheese
Dressing:
1/4 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice (2 lemons)
1/2 cup good olive oil
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly grated black pepper

1. If the arugula has roots attached, cut them off.  Wash well and spin dry.

2. In a small bowl, whisk together the lemon juice, olive oil, salt and pepper.  Pour enough dressing on the arugula to moisten.  Toss well and place the salad on individual plates in bowls.

3. With a very sharp knife or a vegetable peeler, shave the Parmesan into large shards and arrange them on the arugula.  (I use a vegetable peeler and it works great.  Less chance of cutting yourself!)

Leave a Reply

