Alotta White BBQ Sauce and A Few Grilled Shrimp

We had a warm beautiful blue sky day today and it made me want to get outside and grill something 4 dinner tonite.  I am in the mood for Grilled Shrimp. There is almost never a nite that I am not in the mood for shrimp.  I love it!  I like grilled shrimp with minimal seasoning.   I like them brushed with olive oil and  salt and pepper.  I  use  skewers so  they are easy to turn on the grill. Cook over high heat for 2 minutes per side.  What a quick and easy dinner entree!

4 Dinner Tonite, I am also going to have White BBQ Sauce as a dip for my shrimp , baked potato, and a salad. White BBQ Sauce is a Southern thing.  It originated in Decatur,AL.   Bob Gibson, of Big Bob Gibson Bar-B-Q in Decatur, Alabama is credited with concocting white sauce in 1925.  It’s traditionally used as a dip for grilled chicken.  Since most grocery stores carry a gazillion different tomato-based sauces, many southerners have never tried it.  It is though as synonymous with Alabama as Coach Paul “Bear” Bryant, the legendary football coach.

So here’s your chance, you southerners and wanna be southerners to try it.  I’d love to hear how you like it!

White BBQ Sauce

1 1/2 cups mayonnaise
1/4 cup water
1/4 cup white wine vinegar
1 tablespoon coarsely ground pepper
1 tablespoon Creole mustard (I use Zatarain’s – have to get it at Harry’s)
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon sugar
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 teaspoons prepared horseradish

Whisk together all ingredients until blended.  Store in the refrigerator up to 1 week.

2 responses to “Alotta White BBQ Sauce and A Few Grilled Shrimp

  1. YUM!! This looks delicious and I can’t wait to try the bbq sauce recipe!

Leave a Reply

