Dessert Place Carrot Cake

The Dessert Place was famous years ago in Atlanta. You could always count on their cookies, cakes, and pies being the best in town.  Their cookbook, Stressed is Just Desserts Spelled Backwards sold out and hasn’t been available for years.  If you come across one, save it for me and I’ll share more of their recipes.

This cake is incredibly moist and the gooey cream cheese frosting is a nice contrast to the carrot flavor. Tip: You can make cupcakes or mini cupcakes or make it in a 9×13 inch pan.  Cooking times will vary depending on the size of the pan.  Also, cakes freeze really well in case you don’t want to eat it all at once.

Dessert Place Carrot Cake

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 cups granulated sugar
1 tablespoon plus 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
4 eggs, room temperature
1 1/2 cups canola or vegetable oil
1 pound carrots, peeled and finely grated (food processor works great)
Cream Cheese Pecan Frosting:
1 8 ounce package cream cheese, room temperature
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
4 cups confectioners’ sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 cup finely chopped pecan pieces (I omitted)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and place rack in center of the oven.  Grease and flour two 8 or 9 inch cake pans.  Set aside.

2. Using an electric mixer, combine the flour, sugar, cinnamon, baking soda and salt.  Add the eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition.  Scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl with a rubber spatula.  Add oil.  Mix well on medium speed.  Add carrots and mix on low speed until ingredients are well blended.  Pour the batter into the cake pans.  Bake for 30 to 40 minutes.  (start checking around 25 minutes if using 9 inch pans), or until a tester comes out clean.  Let the layers cool completely on a wire rack before removing them from the pans.

3. To prepare the frosting:  While the cake is cooling, using an electric mixer on medium speed, combine cream cheese and butter.  Add confectioners’ sugar and vanilla and mix until fluffy.  Using a spatula, scrape down sides and bottom of the bowl.  Stir in pecan pieces if using.

4. When cake and frosting have cooled, frost the cake between layers and around the outside.  You can decorate cake with chopped or whole pecans.

4 responses to “Dessert Place Carrot Cake

  1. This was the best carrot cake I’ve ever had!!! SO delicious and moist!!

    • Thanks Al!! I’m so glad you liked it. Bet you thought I’d never make a cake that wasn’t chocolate!!

      • becky, I am guessing you had the dessert place in atlanta….if so, there is a muffin /cupcake you sold that I just loved…..I bought the recipe book years ago and the recipe was not in the book…..very dissappointing…If I remember it was like a cinnamon muffin but the center popped up like it was seperate from the outside of the muffin ….if this sounds familiar please let me know……I would LOVE that recipe……PS I really doved the Dessert Place !!!!!!!

      • Hey Weezie,
        I apologize because I thought I had replied to you after you left your message I definitely did not have the dessert place, only a fan of great dessserts! I have a cookbook from the Paidea School in Atlanta and a couple of the parents owned the Dessert Place and a lot of their recipes are in there but I just dug it out to check for you and I don’t see it in there. If I come across it anywhere, I’ll let you know!
        Becky

Leave a Reply

